Atone (Recovered Innocence #2)

atonecover77941-mediumAuthor: Beth Yarnell

Publisher: Loveswept

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy Links: Publisher & Amazon

Type: Novel in Series

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: Beau: Six years. That’s how long I spent behind bars for a crime I didn’t commit—the murder of the woman I loved. Now I’m free, but life on the outside is a different kind of prison. I don’t know who I am or who I want to be. At least I have my sister, Cora. She never stopped believing in me. She even got me a job at the private investigation agency that cleared my name. And then Vera Swain walks into Nash Security and Investigations and kicks my world on its ass.

Vera: There’s only one thing that would make me come out of hiding after two years on the run: finding my sister. I made the mistake of telling a monster about her, the same monster who beat me and broke me. Now I’m forced to confide in Beau Hollis of Nash Security and Investigations. He looks at me like he knows me—the real me. He sees too much, makes me feel too much. The pleasure he offers is exciting and addictive. But I can’t fall for him . . . because my love could get us both killed.

 

Review: This book was really well plotted, the sex scenes were erotic and steamy, and the suspense kept me going until the end. Great job in this follow-up to Vindicate, the first book in the series.

Both Vera and Beau have had a hard path. Just having gotten out of jail after six years of doing time for a crime he didn’t commit, Beau is having a hard time assimilating to life on the outside again. Working at his sister Cora’s office is pretty embarrassing, except he finds out not only that he’s good at cyber investigating, but that he likes it. Luckily so, because all of his skills are going to be out to the test in the case that catches his attention in many ways.

Vera is a woman on the run. She’s returned to San Diego to track down her half-sister because she’s afraid that Marie has gotten involved with the people who had hurt her years ago. Times ticking and they’ve got to find her fast. Vera’s got to be careful, though, about how much she reveals. Her life’s in danger, and being back in the area is risky because of all the people looking for her.

As Beau and Vera get involved not only physically but emotionally, things start heating up. As Vera slowly reveals her past in order to help find her sister, she becomes more and more afraid that as Beau finds out about her, he’ll stop wanting her. And her fear isn’t without merit. This is where it got a little iffy for me, but the rest of the story was so well done that, in the scheme of things, I was able to keep enjoying the book.

All in all, the suspense part of this story was excellently done. I kept reading because I really wanted to know what the heck she could still be hiding! It’s not necessary for you to read the first book, but I’m glad I had because it made Cora much more relatable. Great read for those who like suspense and hot romance!

One thought on “Atone (Recovered Innocence #2)”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.