Review: Rough Terrain (Out of Uniform #7)

Author: Annabeth Albert

Publisher: Carina Press

Rating: 4 stars

Buy Links: CP & Amazon

Type: Novel in a Series

Received from Publisher

 

Blurb: The camping trip from hell may be the first stop on the road to happily-ever-after in Rough Terrain, the final book in Annabeth Albert’s critically acclaimed, fan-favorite Out of Uniform series.

Navy SEAL Renzo Bianchi has a soft spot for Canaan Finley, and not only because the man makes a mean smoothie. He’s the first guy to get Renzo’s motor revving in a long time. But when he agrees to Canaan’s insane charade—one all-access fake boyfriend, coming right up—he never expects more than a fling.

Creating a hot Italian SEAL boyfriend to save face seemed like a good idea…until his friends called Canaan’s bluff. Now he’s setting off into the woods with the very man who inspired his deception, and Canaan is not the outdoorsy type. The sparks are already flying when a flash flood separates them from their group, leaving Renzo and Canaan very much trapped…very much alone in the wilderness.

Working together to come up with a plan for survival is sexier than either of them expects. But back in the real world, being a couple is bringing its own set of hazards…  

 

Review: I’ve had the privilege of getting the ARC for the last 4 books of this series and this was by far my favorite. I read this while my kids were skiing at I was inside the lodge watching from the cozy fireplace. Maybe it was the setting, but something about the outdoor setting in the book made it so enjoyable.

We’ve met the smoothie king, Canaan, before (and Rooster), and he’s always intrigued me. Now, I can’t say I was a fan when this story first started. He seemed kind of pushy and I hate that, but as time went on I fell in love with Canaan. He used to be a drummer in a popular band, but then things happened and he had to come back to reality. Canaan does not mind this one bit and I love him for it. His grandpa is amazing and I love his career choice. Melts my heart.

Renzo, aka Rooster, made this story for me though. I loved him from the first page he was on. He’s loyal to his family (too loyal), his job, his friends/brothers, and his fans. 😉 Renzo’s story was kind of heartbreaking, but enough with the guilt-tripping mother. Seriously, I hated his mother and I hated Renzo for bending over backwards for her. Maybe that’s just me and my own opinion on overbearing/meddling parents/friends, but I wanted Renzo to tell her off so many times.

Canaan’s former bandmates invite him camping/hiking for a weekend, but his ex-boyfriend says he has to invite someone with him so his new boyfriend keeps his jealously in check. I HATED the band members, especially the douchebag ex and new boyfriend. They walked all over Canaan and he allowed himself to be a doormat. My favorite band member, Kelly, even turned out to be a douche and it made me mad. When Canaan invites Renzo to go with him things heat up between the two of them and an adventure happens. Canaan knows he’d be dead if it wasn’t for Renzo, and for a minute it seemed like that was the only reason they were together, but I know he was crushing on Renzo hard in the beginning so I put that out of my head.

For the heat I have to say how much I liked how slow things went between to the sheets, considering Renzo’s issues. It made things so much more believable. The sex in this book was HOT and plentiful, but not too much where I had to skim.

In the end, I have to give this one a solid 4 stars. I can’t wait for more of this Uniform series, please tell me there’ll be more.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.